Fun with Paper: Nursery Letters

April 13, 2011 § 4 Comments

When I was pregnant with my daughter I decided to get a bit crafty. As a graphic designer, I tend to steer clear of crafts and stick to computer generated art, but there seems to be something about haveing children and getting into the crafting world— they just go hand in hand. I decided I wanted to make her name to go on her wall. I didn’t want to paint wooden letters like I had seen before, so I decided I was going to cover cardboard letters in scrapbook paper. I thought this was going to be a big process and entirely above my skill set, but when I sat down to make her name, I was done in an hour or two! After making her letters, I got requests from friends and family… below are pictures of some of my creations. It’s quite fun, and here’s how you do it:

1. Go to a craft store and buy cardboard letters. Buy 1 piece of scrapbook paper for each letter. Also buy anything you might want to glue on top (beads, buttons, ribbon, stickers, flowers, etc.) The sky is the limit so create til your heart’s content. You will also need Modge Podge and a paintbrush. Make sure you get the Matte Modge Podge. I did a set of letters in the Gloss version thinking it might look cool (see Gavyn below) but it ended up looking less refined than the others.

2. Organize your papers by deciding which order they go in and which contrasting paper you will put on the sides of the letters.

3. Turn your letters backwards (Important!) and trace on the back of your scrapbook paper— in the corner so you don’t waste any.

4. Cut out your letter with an Xacto or scissors. Make sure it lines up on your cardboard.

5. Then measure the sides of your letters. They are usually 1 inch think. Cut strips of paper in the thickness of your letters… for example, 1 inch strips of paper.

6. Then get out the Modge Podge, cover your paper, and mold the paper around the letters until it all sticks in place. After that, paint the entire letter with one more coat of Modge Podge. Your letters might look bad at this point, especially if you bought a fancy paper with velvet or shine to it. Don’t worry, it should dry pretty.

7. Glue on any accessories you choose and Viola!— Your done!

§ 4 Responses to Fun with Paper: Nursery Letters

  • Jill says:

    I LOVE these! They are so demure and sweet in cursive letters. Where did you find the cardboard cursive letters?

    • I found them at a place called Recollections which is now out of business :-( They have got to be online somewhere though!

    • Sarah says:

      Hi, found this article through Pinterest! I found the boxier looking letters at Joann Fabric, both in-store and online. Thanks for the tutorial, we are going to do this above my daughter’s crib!

  • toohypper says:

    What an outstanding project! I am going to do this for all family members. This even works when you need a gift idea. :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fun with Paper: Nursery Letters at Creative Organizational Solutions for Life.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers

